Christianity Behind the Wheel

Something I have never understood is the public posting of one’s religion on their vehicle. Not that there is anything wrong with it, but if I should run into someone or my conduct does not match up with Christian ideas, I would much rather keep it to myself.

Case in point, there are those days like today where I would be cut off in traffic and say some bad words. Who hasn’t done that? If they don’t confess doing so, they are not being honest.

When I was in my mid-twenties, I probably did something wrong in driving in downtown Dallas. At a red light, a man jumped out of his car and started to beat on my car. He even tried to get to me inside the car by pulling on the door handles. Fortunately for me, I locked my doors so the worst possible thing did not happen. The minute the light changed I floored it. The man must have been having a bad day, but is it worth taking a human life over it?

Another time in north Dallas, I thought I was really something because I got a close parking space ahead of another driver. The other driver was irate. “What is the matter with you? Are you crazy?” she screamed.

“What is the matter with you? Are you crazy?” she screamed.

“Yes, I am,” I screamed back.

In a few minutes, my sanity returned and I thought “What am I doing? Is this worth it?” I was also barricaded in the prized parking spot to the point I could not get out. I chose to let her have the parking space.

What I did not have planned was her following me all the way from North Dallas to Arlington, a suburb of Fort Worth where my parents lived. I was visiting them for the weekend. This scared me and I thought I was going to have to go to the police station on the way. I breathed a sigh of relief when she stopped at Loop 12 in Irving.

I have had people flip me off in traffic and it is getting to the point where instead they pull out a gun. Now I ask you is it worth going to jail and ending a life over a traffic dispute?

My heart goes out to the family of the young girl who had just graduated high school and was set to go off to college. She had her whole life in front of her. It could have been me instead. Wake up and smell the coffee. Religion is not just for Sunday it is for every hour of the day all through the week.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

